Everyday Beauty

As I spend my last few hours here, I want to leave you with a Japanese philosophywabi sabi. It is a concept derived from the Buddhist teachings of impermanence, suffering and emptiness. Wabi sabi nurtures all that is authentic by acknowledging three simple realities: nothing lasts, nothing is finished, and nothing is perfect (Juniper, 2003, The Japanese Art of Impermanence).

While these concepts may sound negative to you, realizing that life is transient, living with an expectation of joy, while fully acknowledging and rejoicing in imperfection, makes for incredible liberation of spirit. Mindful living encourages you to venerate the beauty you find every day, especially in those things you may often overlook, or find familiar.

If you are too busy to breathe, and often find yourself without moments in your day to close your eyes and reflect, perhaps you need to know more about wabi sabi.

I’d like to share a few images of things that touched me in this way over the past few weeks.

zen garden at RyoanJi-Dry_garden

IMG_0635[2]

IMG_0656[1]

tokyo night view

IMG_0669[1]

IMG_0610[1]

IMG_0394[1]

IMG_0505[1]

IMG_0623[2]

Peace.

4 thoughts on “Everyday Beauty

  1. Hi Polly – we miss you back here in the home country. Your entries are fascinating; I feel like I’m there. Thank you for sharing this world with us. Wabi Sabi – I like it alot.

    • I love the concept, because I struggle to remember sometimes that every moment has beauty and meaning. This nester is craving the nest–we will be home soon. Thank you for reading my meanderings!

  2. Loving all the photos you’re taking. Text me more videos. And if you can, bring me back a couple of bottles of unfiltered sake! My fave! 😉

    • Glad you’re liking the photos. I’m headed to Chiayi and Kaohsiung today–hopefully I’ll have Internet access in both places. Not sure about the sake, bottles of liquid are very heavy to bring home… But we will enjoy some sake together once I get home in any case, for sure.

Leave a Reply

